Notifications
Clear all

Fixing up a 2001 Ford Explorer

Umbra Ascensor
Topic starter  

Hey all, long time no see. Sorry for not being active. Life has been busy working my new job, helping install HVAC units and doing change outs on old systems. I'll try to get a video up sometime soon when things settle in. I've been on the job for a little over a month now so still getting the swing of things.

However, that's not what you all want to hear on this section.

Now to the point. I have a 2001 Ford Explorer XLT. It has 203369 milesish. High mileage. It is a 5.0 v8 so Good engine there. The question I have for those who are mechanically inclined/love working on cars is: how hard of a job would it be to rip out the cloth on the ceiling, insulation, weather stripping, and replace it all?

I ask thistbecause I have a water leak that I've been fighting for a few years. This is a losing fight. My weapon of choice is silcone the crap out of it. However, I have to look at doing it yet again due to it starting to leak again. I think its slowly getting worse yet again and I can't seem to find a spot to silicone anymore. I may have to have some of the electrical fixed due to shorts.

So in short, do you all think it's worth doing? TakeTinto account age of vehicle, mileagem etc. EngineEstill strong. If so, how costly do you think this would be and is it something I'd be better off having a body shop do for me? Also fixing a possible pinhole exhaust leak worth bothering with or no. Never failed emissions.

Beered by The Evil Genius, Old Buck, GregBO and 1 people
GregBO
Admin

No worries Umbra, you are taking care of business and learning a job.