1409: Leipzig University founded

Leipzig University (Free State of Saxony, Germany) was founded on December 2, 1409 is one of the world’s oldest institution of higher learning and research and the second-oldest university (Heidelberg University 1386) in Germany.  The university was founded on December 2, 1409 and originally comprised four scholastic faculties.   Since its inception, the university has engaged in teaching and research for over 600 years without interruption.

Main building of Leipzig University (1917) was demolished in 1968.

The university’s urban campus comprises 14 faculties and institutes associated with them.  All in all, the university is spread across 38 locations in Leipzig.  The main buildings in the city center are still located on the same land plots as the earliest university buildings in 1409.

The Red College of Leipzig University was established in the 16th century.

Famous alumni include Leibniz, Goethe, Leopold von Ranke, Friedrich Nietzsche, Robert Schumann, Richard Schumann, Richard Wagner, Tycho Brahe, Georgius Agricola, Angela Merkel and nine Nobel laureates.

  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00



Dec 02 2020


All Day

Leave a Reply

Scroll Up